简介
新加坡最著名的象征

传说中的鱼尾狮是外形半狮半鱼的繁荣守护者,是新加坡作为港口城市的历史的拟人化身。狮子描绘的是Sang Nila Utama 王子重新发现狮子 (singa) 和城市 (pura) 的民间传说,而鱼尾则象征着古城渔村淡马锡 (Temasek),意为爪哇语的“海洋”。如今,宏伟的鱼尾狮是新加坡的象征,吸引着来自世界各地的游客。

如果您在狮城里走过某些富有意义的地点,您将会见到不止一座鱼尾狮。鱼尾狮公园里有一座 8.6 米的瓷塑像,在它正后方有另一座 2 米高的小鱼尾狮瓷塑像,在旅游阁 (Tourism Court) 有一座 3 米高的鱼尾狮人造石像,在花柏山上还有一座等高的鱼尾狮像。最后且很重要的一座,就是 37 米高的宏伟雕像,位于圣淘沙岛上的混凝土鱼尾狮像。

与滨海大道 (Esplanade) 上先建造的塑像不同,圣淘沙鱼尾狮塔与众不同之处在于,它是新加坡唯一一座可以进入其内部的鱼尾狮像,让您置身其中,更深入地了解这座都市的神话,为您找到财富。

事实与设计

圣淘沙鱼尾狮塔由澳大利亚艺术家 James Martin 设计并雕塑,1995 年完工。

圣淘沙鱼尾狮塔坐落于岛的顶端,立于体现繁荣之基础的底座之上,底座形似“八卦”*而又别具一格,这一具有象征意义的形状和数字 8 代表着吉祥寓意,意为带来丰富的收获。

这座宏伟造像的 320 片鳞片也形似“八卦”,这绝非巧合,而是从不同方面与好风水^紧密相关。

如果您对其中更有趣的细节多加注意,您会发现圣淘沙鱼尾狮塔的每颗牙齿都代表着新加坡不同的民族,表示着所有种族的繁荣。

威猛强大却又和蔼可亲,这必须亲眼一睹的象征迄今仍是新加坡最大最高的鱼尾狮。

*八卦是风水中用于占吉的工具,用于将能量引向繁荣。
^风水是使人类生存与周围环境处于和谐状态的中国哲学体系。

来历

处于海拔 60 米高的位置,从圣淘沙鱼尾狮塔望去,您绝对能俯瞰新加坡岛屿和中央商务区域,景色尽收眼底。

在受到良好保护的自然环境中,尽享其得天独厚的庇荫,圣淘沙鱼尾狮塔从各个层面来说均堪称是繁荣的体现。

传说,鱼尾狮每年都会造访圣淘沙岛,以守护新加坡的福祉。一天深夜,岛屿受到暴风雨的侵袭,鱼尾狮凭着它的神力与雷鸣苍天抗争,保护了岛屿。这个厉害的传奇神兽从此永远地留在了岛上,监视着不断变化的中央商务区和海港的天际线,长年守护着新加坡,并在多次经济危机中护卫着新加坡的经济发展。

这也难怪新加坡的经济稳定与这一惹人喜爱的国家象征大有关系。

神话还是真相,您亲自来看一看、听一听、摸一摸,感受一下这座王者之像的宏伟姿态吧。

INTRODUCTION: SINGAPORE’S
MOST WELL-KNOWN ICON

The legendary Merlion is a mythical creature with a lion’s head and a fish’s body – as a guardian of prosperity which personifies Singapore’s history as an important seaport. The lion head depicts the folklore of Prince Sang Nila Utama’s discovery of lion (singa) and City (pura) while the fish tail symbolises the fishing village of ‘Temasek’, also known as ‘sea-town’ in Javanese. Today, the majestic Merlion is a Singapore icon attracting visitors from all around the world.

If you walk past some of the significant sites in the Lion City, you’ll meet more than one Merlion. There’s the 8.6-metre porcelain statue at Merlion Park, another 2-metre cub porcelain statue right behind it, a 3-metre polymarble statue at Tourism Court as well as another one of the same height on Mount Faber. Last but definitely not least, there’s the majestic 37-metre-tall concrete Merlion on Sentosa Island.

Unlike its predecessor by the Esplanade, Sentosa Merlion distinguishes itself as the only Merlion in Singapore where you can discover the urban myth and uncover treasure within its attraction trail.

FACTS & DESIGN

Completed in 1995, Sentosa Merlion was designed and sculpted by an Australian Artist, James Martin.

Positioned at the heart of the island, the Sentosa Merlion stands on a base that resembles the bagua* which is believed to bring about prosperity and affluence. Each of the majestic creature’s 320 scales is shaped like the bagua too.

And if you pay close attention to more intriguing details inside, you’ll notice that each of the Sentosa Merlion’s teeth represents a different ethnic group in Singapore – Malay, Chinese, Indian and Eurasian – signifying prosperity for all citizens of Singapore.

Standing strong and majestic, this must-see icon is still, by far, the largest and tallest Merlion in Singapore.

*Bagua is an auspicious tool used in Feng Shui to direct energy towards prosperity.

THE ORIGINS

Reigning in full glory with a protective nature, Sentosa Merlion truly embodies prosperity in every sense.

Legend has it that the Merlion would visit Sentosa island every year to guard Singapore’s well-being. One dark night, the island was threatened by a violent storm and the Merlion fought the thundering skies with its mythical powers and preserved the land.

This mighty legend remained permanently on the island through the years to protect Singapore by watching over the ever changing skyline of the Central Business District and harbour, as well as the country’s economic growth through numerous financial crises. It’s no wonder Singapore’s economic stability has much to do with this endearing national symbol.

If you stand on the Merlion’s head, you will be towering at 60 metres above sea level, allowing you a magnificent view of Singapore Island and the Central Business District. This is likened to the Merlion watching over Singapore.

Myth or truth, come and see, hear, touch, and feel the grand presence of the regal icon yourself.